Phnom Penh

Phnom Penh is located in the South of Cambodia. With an area of 290 km2 and the population of about 1.5 million, it is currently the largest city of Cambodia. The city has a tropical climate with two seasons: the rainy season (May to October) and the dry one (November to April).
Situated at the confluence of three rivers named the Mekong, Bassac and the great Tonle Sap; Phnom Penh has its former name "Krong Chaktomuk" which means "City of Four Faces" because the 3 above rivers form an "X" where the capital is located.
Under the French governance, Phnom Penh was kwon as the "Pearl of Southeast Asia" because of various large architectures built by the French. That is why it became the most important city of the Mekong basin since that period. It, however, was partially destroyed by the Red Khmer.
The city takes its name from the re-known Wat Phnom Daun Penh, the "Hill Temple", , which was built in 1373 to house five statues of Buddha on a manmade hill 27 meters high. These five statues were floating down the Mekong in a Koki tree and an old wealthy widow named Daun Penh (Grandma Penh) saved them and set them up on this very hill for worshiping.
Until now, this beautiful city is still a famous destination with religious buildings, old mansions, the Royal Palace and other historical monuments since colonial times.

Click on each photo to see details of the attraction